Flashcards

June 11, 2011

I don’t know where it came from, but I’ve always had a hatred for flashcards.  So I wasn’t thrilled when I saw that 6 packs of them came with our new math program, but we’ve been using them here and there.  But my heart about melted when I walked in the other day and found Makenna drilling Kallie on her colors and shapes…and Kallie LOVES it!  I’m proud to say she knows all her colors, a good number of basic shapes, she can count from 1-20 (and only skips number 15, haha), and has known her ABCs for quite a while now.  She loves to serenade us through the monitor with them in the mornings.  😉

As far as Kenna’s progress report: she is reading 1st grade readers (which have some HUGE words in them that I can’t BELIEVE she knows!), learning her 1st grade phonics rules, doing various 1st grade math skills including addition from 1-10, has scored 100% on her spelling tests so far, and looooves science and the experiments that go with it.  I often find her reading the Children’s Encyclopedia to Kallie and excitedly telling her about air, weather, and tadpoles.  😉  I know, I’m off on a little bragging spree, but I can’t help it.  My girls just make me so proud.  🙂

Leave a comment